D-SNAPS signups to end soon for 13 SWGA counties

Photo: MGN Online & Max Pixel

Signups for Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (D-SNAP) benefits ends this Wednesday in 13 Southwest Georgia counties.

The program extends aid to low-income families—particularly those who are not normally eligible for food stamps—who have incurred expenses or suffered losses to income or property because of a natural disaster. The Division of Family and Children Services estimate that about 50,000 families may be eligible for the assistance following Hurricane Michael.

Residents in Baker, Crisp, Decatur, Dougherty, Early, Grady, Lee, Miller, Mitchell, Seminole, Terrell, Thomas and Worth counties can sign up until November 14.

Lee and Thomas county residents can sign up starting Thursday through November 15.

On November 15, Calhoun, Clay, Laurens, Randolph, Sumter, Tift and Turner County residents can sign up though November 19.

“We know families continue to struggle to rebuild their lives after this historic storm, and we want to be sure that, while families are focusing on rebuilding their communities, they do not have to worry where their next meal will come from,” said DFCS Interim Director Tom Rawlings. “I commend our partners on the local, state and federal level for working quickly and relentlessly to ensure Georgians receive the help they need when they need it.”

For more information on the D-SNAP program or locations, you can visit www.dfcs.georgia.gov or call 1-833-DSNAP-GA (833-376-2742).

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off