Westover cleans up region awards

Westover dominated 4A-1 on the football field this season, and that domination demonstrated itself when the all-region awards were released on Wednesday.

The Patriots led the way with seven first team all-region selections, including sacks leader Brenten Wimberly and defensive back Jysanti Richardson. Defensive lineman Trent Thompson won Defensive Player of the Year, while Octavia Jones took home Coach of the Year.

Cairo had five first team all-region selections and the Offensive Player of the Year in Jeremiah Hill. Monroe and Crisp County had three selections apiece.

Monroe quarterback Charles Stafford was honored as the Player of the Year. Albany's Juwon Young made the first team as a linebacker.