Golden Rams set to repeat as SIAC Champs

Albany State Head Coach Mike White along with the rest of the SIAC coaches at Media Day. / Stan McCormick

Last year for Albany State's football team, it didn't start the way they would have wanted. They quickly fell into a 0-2 start before finally getting a win in week three against Elizabeth City State University. The start might not have been what they wanted but the finish was flawless. The Golden Rams finished their 2013 season at 6-4 while winning their last five games in a row and won the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Title.

Today was the SIAC media day and Albany State likes where they are sitting as the 2014 season approaches. Albany State received 23 points and all available first-place votes from the East Division poll, including 111 points in the overall ranking, making them the favorite to win the conference. The voting was done this morning among the league's football head coaches. ASU's rival Fort Valley State received 17 points with two first-place votes. Making Fort Valley State a runner-up favorite for the East Division.

The biggest weapon for the Golden Rams is the return of quarterback and leader of the team; Frank Rivers. In 2013, Rivers was named the SIAC Newcomer of the Year and named to the SIAC second team. That was then and this is now. For 2014, Rivers was named SIAC Preseason Offensive Player of the Year and naturally earned SIAC first team honors.

Albany State ran the table for total players on the preseason teams, including Frank Rivers locking in the first team all SIAC quarterback position. Among Rivers on the SIAC first team was Offensive Lineman Victor Moli, Wide Receiver Jessi Atkins, Kicker Zachary Gayden-Holley, and Defensive Lineman Grover Stewart.

For second team all SIAC were Offensive Running back Phillip Moore, Defensive Lineman Damien Goosby, Linebacker Larry Whitfield, Punter Ryan Latner, and finally Punt Returner Adrian Alexander.

The Albany State Golden Rams open their season up against Valdosta State at Bazemore-Hyder Stadium on September 6th at 7PM.