81 / 49
      80 / 51
      79 / 57

      State targets 157 schools for extra help

      The Georgia Department of Education released a list of 157 focus schools they TMre targeting to help as part of an accountability system.

      The schools in Southwest Georgia on listed alphabetically by county below:

      • Atkinson County " Atkinson County Middle School
      • Ben Hill County " Ben Hill County Middle School
      • Crisp County " Crisp County High School, A.S. Clark Elementary School
      • Dougherty County " Albany Middle School, Radium Springs Middle School
      • Sumter County " Sumter County Elementary School, Sumter County Middle School
      • Terrell County " Terrell Middle School
      • Tift County " J.T. Reddick Elementary School
      • Turner County " Turner County Elementary School

      All of the schools had either a graduation rate under 60% or significant gaps in test scores. The Georgia Department of Education says support and interventions will begin in June.

      For more information click here.