Southwest Georgia school system solar eclipse plans

Even though most of Georgia won't see the total solar eclipse, school systems across Southwest Georgia are making preparations ahead of Monday's event. / MGN Online

Millions of people will have a once in a lifetime opportunity to see a total solar eclipse across the United States on Monday, August 21.

Even though most of Georgia won't see the total solar eclipse, school systems across Southwest Georgia are making preparations ahead of Monday's event.

Atkinson County:

Delayed dismissal by 30 minutes

Baker County:

Baker County K-12 School will suspend all outside activities at 1 p.m.

Delayed dismissal by 30 minutes.

Ben Hill County:

Schools will follow the early dismissal schedule:

  • Preschool - 11:15 a.m. Bus Riders and 11:30 a.m. Car Riders
  • Primary School – 11:30 a.m. Bus Riders and 11:45 a.m. Car Riders
  • Elementary School – 12:00 p.m. for Bus Riders and 12:15 p.m. Car Riders
  • Middle School - 11:45 a.m. Car Riders 12: 00 p.m. (All Long Distance Bus Riders) 12:15 p.m. (All other Bus Riders)
  • High School – 11:45 a.m. Car Riders and (All Long Distance Bus Riders) 12:15 (All other Bus Riders)

Berrien County:

Students will be dismissed early due to the eclipse.

Dismissal for parent pick-ups:

  • Berrien Primary School and Berrien High School: 11:30
  • Berrien Elementary School and Berrien Middle School: 11:45
  • Berrien Academy and the alternative school: 11:10

Dismissal for buses (30 minutes earlier than typical early dismissal):

  • Berrien Academy: 11:05
  • Alternative School: 11:10
  • Berrien Primary School and Berrien Elementary: 11:15
  • Berrien Middle School: 11:20
  • Berrien High School: 11:30

Calhoun County:

Dismissal will be delayed until 4:15 p.m. for students.

Students must remain inside the building after 2 p.m. until school is dismissed.

Coffee County:

Schools will dismiss early.

Colquitt County:

Colquitt County Elementary schools will be dismissing 30 minutes early, but all other schools are following regular schedule.

Cook County:

Schools will follow early dismissal schedule:

  • Cook Primary - 11:30 a.m.
  • Cook Elementary -11:30 a.m.
  • Cook Middle -12:00 p.m.
  • Cook High -12:00 p.m.

Crisp County:

Normal dismissal times for elementary-high school.

Primary and Pre-K will dismiss 30 minutes later.

Certified safety eclipse glasses (rated ISO12312-2) will be provided for students.

Parents may still pick students up at the normal dismissal times.

Dougherty County:

  • Elementary schools will dismiss late, at 3:30 p.m.
  • For parents with students in the DCSS, you can find important eclipse information here.

Deerfield-Windsor School:

Normal dismissal times.

Sherwood Christian Academy:

Normal dismissal times.

St. Teresa's School:

Normal dismissal times.

Byne Christian School:

Normal dismissal times.

Parents can pick up students early at 11:30 a.m. without penalty.

Irwin County:

Early dismissal for all schools at 12:35 p.m.

Lee County:

Dismissal will be delayed until 3:30 p.m.

Families who want to view the eclipse together may pick up their child before 2 p.m.

Mitchell County:

Regular school dismissal scheduled as of Wednesday at lunchtime.

Westwood Schools

Normal school dismissal.

Pelham City Schools:

Schools will have a delayed dismissal by 30 minutes.

All students will be kept inside during the eclipse.

Parents can pick up their students at 1 p.m. without penalty.

Terrell Academy:

Dismissal will be delayed until 3:30 p.m.

Students with certified eclipse glasses will be allowed outdoors to see the eclipse.

Terrell County:

Students will be released after the eclipse.

Parents can come early to pick their child up before the eclipse starts without penalty.

Tift County:

Each school will dismiss students three and a half hours earlier than the normal dismissal time.

The Kids Advocacy Coalition after-school program will be closed.

Tiftarea Academy:

Students will follow a normal half-day schedule with no lunch or break.

Bus riders will be dismissed at noon, and car riders/drivers at 12:10 p.m.

Turner County:

Schools will be dismissed at 12 p.m.

Worth County:

Following normal dismissal schedule. There will not be any outdoor activities after 12:30 p.m. including recess, PE or other instructional activities.

All athletic events and practices will be delayed until 4:30 p.m.

Parents wishing to checkout their students may do so between 12 and 2 p.m. without attendance consequences.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off