LOST funds approved in Lee County

Lee County commissioners discuss agenda matters. / Jessica Fairley

After weeks of negotiations, the Lee County Board of Commissioners have voted on a set split of local options sales tax funds.

The city of Leesburg will receive 13% of sales tax funds while Smithville will get 6%.

Lee County will receive the remaining 81% of funds.

During Tuesday's meeting, Commissioner Rick Muggridge requested that the board review the split so that the county will receive a larger share.

Chairman Ed Duffy says giving Leesburg 13% will keep the city from raising the millage rate and the 6% given to Smithville will help keep them afloat.

Duffy says approving the local option sales tax split now will ensure that the issue doesn't go into arbitration.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off