Governor Nathan Deal recognizes Lee County fire fighter for heroism

Govenor Nathan Deal at an event earlier in the year. / File

In a press release issued Monday morning, Georgia Governor Nathan Deal has recognized eight for professional contributions and 18 public safety professionals for acts of heroism, one of which is from Lee County.

"I am honored to recognize our brave law enforcement officers and emergency responders who risk their lives every day to make our state a safer place," said Deal in the release. "Public safety is one of the most solemn obligations of state government, and I thank these heroes for their selfless commitment to Georgia citizens."

The annual Governor's Public Safety Awards program began in 1998 to recognize public safety officers who go above and beyond the call of duty to protect citizens and make significant contributions to the public safety profession at large.

Alan Harris of the Lee County Fire Department was recognized for his heroism when he helped save a paraplegic victim trapped in a residential fire July 31st, 2011.

Heroism Recipients:
Bobby Atma, Columbia County Sheriff's Office
Keith E. Cox, Columbia County Sheriff's Office
Matthew J. MacDonald, Georgia State Patrol
Wes Ward, Columbia County Sheriff's Office
MacKay Bloodworth, Georgia State Patrol
Stanley Bowers, Gwinnett County Fire and EMS
Michael Chastain, Gwinnett County Fire and EMS
Michael Korb, Gwinnett County Fire and EMS
David Brady, Department of Natural Resources
Don Dasher, Department of Natural Resources
Clint Jarriel, Department of Natural Resources
Alan S. Harris, Lee County Fire Department
Joe Hilton, Department of Natural Resources
Jack Lawrence, Jr., Georgia State Patrol
Jason M. Ross, Coweta County Sheriff's Office
James Bradley Walker, Georgia State Patrol
John Matthew Webster, Gwinnett County Fire and EMS
Jason Williams, Cherokee County Fire and EMS

Contribution to Profession Recipients:
John G.R. Bankhead, Georgia Bureau of Investigation
Gene Joy, Hall County Sheriff's Office
Terry Lane Joyner, Alpharetta Department of Public Safety
Thomas E. "Buster" King, Jr., Georgia Department of Corrections
J. Dale Mann, Georgia Public Safety Training Center
Billy Mitcham, Thomaston-Upson County Emergency Management Agency
Joseph Eugene Pope, Butt's County Sheriff's Office
Courtney L. Terwilliger, Emanuel County EMS