DCSS attorney releases list of non-renewal teachers

A non-renewal letter sent out to DCSS teachers and principals involved in the CRCT investigation.

Tommy Coleman, the attorney for the Dougherty County School System, has released a list of teachers who have received non-renewal letters.

The letters sent out on Friday, May, 04, 2012 states, "you are hereby notified that your contract as a teacher in the Dougherty County School System will not be renewed."

The list includes 24 employees who are either principals or teachers with the Dougherty County School System.

Of the 24 names included is Angela Shumate, the principal of Albany High School and Gloria Baker, Principal of Morningside Elementary School.

Baker is on the list for connection to the Dougherty County School System free lunch scandal.

The attorney for the school system says since they didn't receive evidence early enough to hold trials, the purpose of the non-renewals are to keep the teachers from automatically having their contracts renewed for next year.

Each teacher and principal will have a chance to prove their case before a tribunal, if they choose to do so.

We think that some of them there's pretty strong evidence about but there are others we think will ultimately show that the evidence is different. Each case is different, says Tommy Coleman, Attorney for the Dougherty County School System.

Coleman says, at this point, he hasn't received any statements as to whether or not any of the accused will go forward with a trial.

See a copy of the list below:


Anderson, Deborah

Ashley, Faye

Austin, Tekeela

Baker, Gloria

Bowman, Robert

Dubose, Vanessa

Evans, Elicia

Faulkner, Trina

Flood, Deborah

Ford, Tia

Jackson, Fatima

Jolivette, Lavonda

Kegler, Katrice

Knighton-Harris, Beverly

Lyons, Nikki

Mallard, Tara

Randle, Tiffaney

Roquemore, Jose

Savage, Adrienne

Shumate, Angela

Smith, Jennifer

Wallace, Alberta

Warren, Debra

Zachary, Lillian

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off