Boy Scout councils vote to merge

A vote has been taken and two local Boy Scout councils have agreed to a merger plan.

According to officials, the vote was passed by a 49-1 count.

The new council will go into effect November 1st and will be temporarily called the South Georgia Council.

The combined council will serve a total of 39 counties including Atkinson, Baker, Ben Hill, Berrien, Brooks, Calhoun, Clay, Clinch, Coffee, Cook, Crisp, Dooly, Dougherty, Early, Echols, Irwin, Jeff Davis, Lanier, Lee, Lowndes Miller, Mitchell, Schley, Sumter, Terrell, Tift, Turner, Wilcox, and Worth.

Stay connected to as the story develops and the FOX 31 Newscast at 10 PM.
close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off