Attorney General Olens elected southern region chair

Attorney General Sam Olens / File

Georgia Attorney General Sam Olens has been elected Chair of the Southern Region of the National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG). The Southern Region includes the following 13 states: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia.

The election of Olens by his fellow Southern attorneys general occurred yesterday during the NAAG meeting in Boston. As Chairman, he will serve on the Executive Committee of NAAG and be responsible for coordinating the agenda of the Southern Region.

"I am honored to be chosen by my peers to lead the Southern Region for NAAG during the coming year," said Olens. "I look forward to working with my counterparts in the other Southern states on ways to better our individual states and the entire Southern region."

Stay connected to as stories develop and the FOX 31 Newscast at 10 PM. Visit us on Facebook and Twitter to join in on the conversation and connect with FOX 31!