Albany Area Chamber the First to Receive Inaugural GACCE Certified Chamber Status

      From the Albany Area Chamber of Commerce:

      The Albany Area Chamber of Commerce was the first in the state Monday night to receive a new designation -- certified chamber status by the Georgia Association of Chamber of Commerce Executives (GACCE). The honor, given to 25 chambers out of 150 statewide, follows a national certification received in 2007 by the United States Chamber of Commerce. (See full list below)

      "It's an exciting time to be in the chamber industry and to be a chamber in Georgia. The quality of leadership, programs and services that define the over 150 chambers statewide continues to increase," said Tiffany Ott of GACCE. "Many chambers have risen to the challenge during these tough economic times to provide unparalleled leadership and direction, helping their members and communities thrive."
      The Albany Area Chamber is now part of an exclusive group, based on its performance, solid organizational infrastructure and programs, Ott said.
      It's an honor Albany Area Chamber President/CEO Catherine Glover is exceptionally proud of.
      "In 2007, we received the US Chamber 5-Star accreditation status. There are approximately 7,000 chambers in the United States, and out of that, only 234 are Accredited Chambers, with only 75 receiving 5-Star," Glover said. "We have a great team at the chamber so this award is a reflection of all the hard work they've done to deliver a product to the business community that is efficient, effective and a great value."

      Earlier this year, the GACCE Board of Directors created the Georgia Certified Chamber program as a way to recognize chambers in the state that have focused internally on their operations. The program was modeled after the U.S. Chamber's accreditation program. To qualify, Chambers must meet standards in organization, service intent and capacity, professional administration, financial management, communications, and advocacy in order to achieve the Georgia Certified Chamber designation, according to the GACCE criteria.

      The 25 chambers that were recognized during the 2011 GACCE Leadership Conference as Georgia Certified Chambers were:

      1. Albany Area Chamber
      2. Berrien County Chamber
      3. Blairsville-Union County Chamber
      4. Blakely-Early County Chamber
      5. Camden County Chamber
      6. Carroll County Chamber
      7. Catoosa County Chamber
      8. Cherokee County Chamber
      9. Columbia County Chamber
      10. Conyers-Rockdale Chamber
      11. Darien-McIntosh County Chamber
      12. Douglas County Chamber
      13. Dublin-Laurens County Chamber
      14. Forsyth-Monroe County Chamber
      15. Gilmer County Chamber
      16. Lee County Chamber
      17. Newnan-Coweta Chamber
      18. Paulding Chamber
      19. Pickens County Chamber
      20. Robins Regional Chamber
      21. Tifton-Tift County Chamber
      22. Toccoa-Stephens County Chamber
      23. Valdosta-Lowndes County Chamber
      24. Walton County Chamber
      25. Wilkinson County Chamber