Albany and Dougherty County to get 311 service

Residents in Albany and Dougherty County are getting 311 telephone service. The Public Service Commission on Tuesday approved 311 service for the area.

The number is for non-emergency government services. It's the seventh local government in Georgia to get 311 approval.

The service is also available in Cobb, Dawson, DeKalb and Columbia counties as well as in Columbus and Savannah.