Acting superintendent named for Dougherty County School Board

The Dougherty County School Board met on Monday morning to discuss the process of putting an interim superintendent in place but have named a temporary replacement.

Kenneth Dyer has been named as acting superintendent as of December 19th and will hold the position until an interim superintendent is found.

Dyer will be replacing Dr. Joshua Murfree after he steps down on December 18th after the school board voted to end Murfree's contract instead of allowing it to expire in June at the end of it's three year term.

Dougherty County School System Attorney Tommy Coleman said that financial processes that need to be approved while the search occurs for the interim superintendent and Dyer has the experience.

School Board Chairman James Bush said that Dyer has proven capable of making the decisions and the Georgia School Board Association is happy with the decision.

During the meeting, Coleman explained the selection process after the Georgia School Board Association gave the members a list of 19 potential candidates.

Dyer contacted all the members on the list and was able to narrow the list down to three candidates with interviews set for December 20th. The goal is to have an interim candidate in place for the new year.

Coleman told members if they narrow that list down to three candidates or less, they have to advertise those names for 14 days before they can legally vote.

New school board members Robert Youngblood and Lane Price are expected to be able to vote on the new superintendent with Price saying that the school board is tired of being divided and ready to work as a unified whole by including them in this process.

The three finalists for the interim superintendent position are Dr. Roy G. Brooks, Dr. David C. Mosely, and Dr. Franklin D. Perry

Dr. Brooks resides in Little Rock, Arkansas. He served as superintendent for the Sumter County Schools in Americus, Georgia from 2010 to 2012; Chief Executive Officer of eStem Public Charter Schools, Inc. in Little Rock, Arkansas from 2007 to 2010; and Superintendent of Little Rock School District, Little Rock, Arkansas from 2004 to 2007.

Dr. David C. Mosely resides in Climax, Georgia. He served as superintendent for Glynn County Schools from 1994 to 1999; Vidalia City Schools from 1990 to 1994; and Decatur County School System from 1985 to 1990. He also served as Interim Superintendent for several counties which include: Coffee County School System; Mitchell County School System; and Carroll County School System from 1999 to 2011.

Dr. Franklin D. Perry resides in Macon, Georgia. He served as superintendent for Twiggs County Public Schools from 2006 to 2009 and Sumter County Schools in Americus, Georgia from 2002 to 2005.

Stay connected to as stories develop and the FOX 31 Newscast at 10 PM. Visit us on Facebook and Twitter to join in on the conversation and connect with FOX 31!

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off