Qualifying candidates shed light on upcoming elections

At noon Friday, local counties found out how their future elections would play out after election qualifying ended.

In Dougherty County, several seats will be uncontested, including multiple Dougherty County School Board seats held by Velvet Edwards-Riggins and James Bush. Lee County also faces a similar situation for it's school board seats as none of the three seats have opposition. Worth County had three seats open like Lee County, but opposition has appeared in the district one and three seats.

The Worth County Sheriff's race had five people qualify, making it one of the candidate-laden races for the July election. Lee County Sheriff Reggie Rachals faces opposition from David Cheshire while Dougherty County Sheriff Kevin Sproul had no opposition.

Despite not having any formal ballot competition, candidates could see competition from a qualified write-in candidate.

For a full list of candidates from Worth, Lee and Dougherty Counties, check the list below.

Worth County

Judge of the Probate Court
Acord, Virginia - R
Goldinger, Ann - R
Griffin, Fidila - D

Clerk of Superior Court
Hicks, Brenda - D

Daniel, John "JD" - D
Davis, Leonard "Lenny" II - D
Graddy, Ronald "Ronnie" - R
Hobby, Jeffrey "Jeff" - R
Jones, Marion "Gene" - D

Tax Commissioner
DuPriest, Tabetha - D

Medders, Roger - R

Johnson, John "Johnny" - R
Willis, Kenneth "Ken" - R

Chief Magistrate
Strenth, Tony â" R

Johnson, Bryce - R

County Commission Chairperson
Cosby, John "Mike" - R
Dent, Dorsey "Fred" - R
Hufstetler, Donald - D
Medders, Matthew "Matt" - D

County Commission District 1
Gaines, Joe - D
Hall, Anthony "Tony" - D

County Board of Education District 2
Jones, Jerry - R

County Board of Education District 3
Reynolds, William "Bill" - R
Roberts, Mike - D
Oliver, William "Billy" - R

Judge of State Court, Worth County
Miller, Clarence

Lee County

Qualified Nonpartisan Candidates
Probate Judge
John Wheaton

Chief Magistrate
Jim Thurman

Board of Education District 2
Claire B. Lang

Board of Education District 4
Sylvia S. Vann

Board of Education District 5
Frank Griffin

Qualified Political Party Candidates
Clerk of Superior Court
Sara R. Clark - R

David Cheshire - R
Reggie D. Rachals - R

Tax Commissioner
Susan Smith - R

Ronald H. Rowe, Sr. - R

County Commission, District 2
Mary Egler - D
Luke Singletary - R
Raymond L. Timms - R

County Commission, District 4
Rick Muggridge - R
Frank Taylor - R

County Commission, District 5
Greg Frich - R
Bill Williams - R

Dougherty County

Kevin Sproul â" D

Clerk of Court
Evonne S. Mull â" D

State Court Judge
Victoria Darrisaw - D
Christopher Shun Warren - D

Probate Court Judge
Nancy Stephenson - D

Michael Fowler - D
Emma B. Quimbley â" D

County Commission District 1
Lamar Hudgins - R

County Commission District 3
Clinton Johnson - D
Louise White Primrose - D

County Commission District 5
Gloria J. Gaines - D

School Board District 1
Robert Lee Youngblood - D

School Board District 3
Velvet Edwards-Riggins - D

School Board District 5
James C. Bush - D

School Board At Large
Anita Williams Brown - D
Lane Price - D