Seven Georgia schools get blue ribbon honor

Photo Credit: MGN Online

Seven Georgia public schools and one private school were honored Tuesday in Washington D.C. at the 2012 National Blue Ribbon Schools Ceremony held by U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan according to a press release issued by the Georgia Department of Education.

Each school that attended received a plaque and a flag to signify its status as a National Blue Ribbon School.

The No Child Left Behind Blue Ribbon Schools award distinguishes and honors schools for helping students achieve at very high levels and for making significant progress in closing the achievement gap.

"I congratulate these schools for being recognized as 2012 National Blue Ribbon Schools," said State School Superintendent Dr. John Barge in the release. "The students, teachers and staff of these schools should be proud of their success. These schools are shining examples of what happens when everyone is focused on student learning."

The honored schools include:

Chase Street Elementary in Clarke County

Austell Intermediate School in Cobb County

Kittredge Magnet in DeKalb County

Crabapple Crossing in Fulton County

Fairmount Elementary in Gordon County

Simpson Elementary in Gwinnett County

Britt David Elementary, Muscogee County

First Presbyterian Day Middle in Macon